relating

By my age I’ve learned two key relationship skills, the “I Statement” and otherwise avoiding “you”, that I try to use as much as possible.

The “I Statement” simply goes like this: “When you do/say __________, I feel _________.” We’re all entitled to our emotions and expressing them. This is a way to express feelings without provoking the other person or escalating matters.

Other than in an “I Statement”, try to avoid using the word, “you”, unless it’s a compliment. Otherwise it may very likely put the person you’re speaking to on the offensive. It’s just human nature.

I’ve found these two skills effective at creating peace, love, and harmony in relationships whether they be intimate, family, friends, or co-workers.

I’ve been using these for years and have had some success, but still have a ways to go (especially given my challenges). They take time to implement, so have patience and keep trying.

Peace, love, joy, best always.

lovetrumpshate

