Budget

811 WILD SQ FT SPROUTI’ve been a low-income divorced single-mom vegan since 1990, raw-vegan since 1999, and high high-carb low-fat fruity-raw-vegan since 2010; so here is my response to the question, “How much does it cost to be raw vegan?” I use cronpmeter.com (set to LFRV) to make sure I eat enough calories. Bananas are only $.50/lb (50 cents per pound). There are about 4 bananas per pound. 1 banana is 100 calories so 14 bananas (2 bunches or two 48 oz blender full) have 1,400 calories for $1.75 (14/4=3.5lbs x $.50) multiplied by 7 is $12.25 per week. (Dates cost $4/lb which have 1,279 calories. $28/week.) Walnuts are $5.49/lb(32T) and I eat 2T/day which have 82 calories and costs $.34/day or $2.40/week. A bag of three organic romaine hearts or organic celery or box of organic baby spinach or arugula is about $3 and half pound of organic hemp seeds or organic pumpkin seeds is about $3. I add whatever else I can afford for variety; ie: melon, mango, papaya, tomato, raisins, cucumber, yam, oats, legumes, wild rice, etc. Wild Autumn Berries grow in my yard for free! :) The book, Edible Wild Plants, helps me find free edible wild plant foods. The Sprouting Book helps me grow my own sprouts very affordably. Square Foot Gardening helps me grow some of my own food. The book, The 80/10/10 Diet, and the online community, 30 Bananas A Day, provide valuable information and support. The high-carb low-fat fruity-raw-vegan or vegan lifestyle is affordable, nutritious, and sustainable! :)

Wild Cherries 2012.03.07aBananas

PayFarmerNotDoctor

loveisgreaterthanmoney

Leave a Reply

