Tomato

2009.12.14eTomatoSoftAt a seaside cafe,
I asked the waitress: “May I please have a tomato?”
The waitress replied: “Whaaaaat?”
Again I asked: “May I please have a tomato?”
Again waitress replied: “Whaaaaat?”
Again I asked: “May I please have a tomato?”
Waitress bewildered asked: “You just want a tomato?”
I replied: “Yes, please. Thank you.”
Waitress with a bit of an attitude: “You just want a tomato … like … on a plate?”
I replied: “Yes, please. Thank you.”
Actually I didn’t care about the plate. I love to eat a tomato whole like a fruit, which it is. It’s a little tricky, but I start at the top and sort of suck and lick the juices out as I work my way down and around to not make a mess or waste any lusciousness. But I didn’t want to freak the waitress out any further. So she brought me a lovely tomato sliced on a plate with some basil leaves on top for only a few dollars. It was a divine snack. I’d had a 6 banana smoothie for brunch and would have another when I got home. After enjoying my tomato, my date and I walked on the beach and he was laughing and imitating the waitress which made me laugh. I really meant no harm or disrespect, but just felt like a tomato.
☮♥☺☼Ⓥ©MaraMore.com

One thought on “Tomato

Leave a Reply

