Parenting

I am very passionate about mothering and believe parenting is the most important “job” there is. I always wanted to be a mom and had great examples from my Mom who had seven children and paternal Grandmother who had six children and both stayed home to raise them. I babysat two boys for ten years (1969-1979) the last five summers of which were full time from 9am to 5pm Monday through Friday, worked as an assistant teacher in a daycare for a few years (1977-1979),Β  and studied early-childhood education in college. While those experiences made me feel accomplished, they paled by comparison to pregnancy, childbirth, and being a full time 24 hours a day 365 days a year attachment style mom with deeply bonded love for my child. Attachment parenting helped me be highly intuitive, natural, calm, focused, and effective in my mothering. I was faced with huge challenges yet I still managed to keep bonding. I will share some of the books which helped me mother with ease. I have worked with school students since 1991 to present, taught religious education (1994-1996), have been a foster-parent, and use information from these books on a regular basis.

My favorite parenting book, Magical Child by Joseph Chilton Pearce, is primarily about how intelligence develops in humans and I found it fascinating and it deeply affected my parenting philosophy and practice. I also love the books, The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding by Diane Wiessinger, Diana West, and Teresa Pitman, The Family Bed by Tine Thevenin, Raising Your Spirited Child: A Guide for Parents Whose Child Is More Intense, Sensitive, Perceptive, Persistent, and Energetic by Mary Sheedy Kurcinka, Parent Effectiveness Training: The Proven Program for Raising Responsible Children by Thomas Gordon, Primal Mothering in a Modern World by Hygeia Halfmoon, and Children Learn What They Live. I hope you enjoy these books and happy parenting. :) I recommend reading them before conceiving your child.

MC LLL BED SPIRIT PET PRIMAL LEARN_LIVE RECIPE

Leave a Reply

